Arrowhead Brewing Co. – Doc Tegart’s ESB

Arrowhead Brewing Co. - Doc Tegart's ESB Review


4.2 out of 5
4 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
3.9 out of 5


4 out of 5


  • Brewery: Arrowhead Brewing Co.
  • Beer Style: Extra Special Bitter
  • Pros:

    Big and floral nose with a surprisingly traditional flavour.

  • Cons:

    Bigger than typical for the style, quite floral.

  • Conclusion:

    A traditional ESB with a BC kick of flavour and body. A unique beer that plays homage to its roots.

Arrowhead Brewing Co. - Doc Tegart's ESB ReviewArrowhead Brewing Co. – Doc Tegart’s Extra Special Bitter (ESB) Review

From Invermere BC the Arrowhead Brewing Company has been satisfying the thirst of their locals and tourists but the rest of BC has for the most part been missing out. Distribution of Arrowhead’s beer is not massive but it is improving. Keep an eye out is this beer starts to become more widely available. The Doc Tegar’s ESB is an Extra Special Bitter and one of Arrowhead’s staple, year round beers. From the bomber bottle the beer appears as an amber colour topped with two fingers of lacing head. The aroma  is big and floral with notes of citrus and tropical fruit. From the smell this beer seems to be a high IBU, big flavoured ESB. In tasting the beer it is rather maltier than the aroma forecast. A malt forward ESB with a citrus and light florality comes in a mid-bodied beer. An English-style flavour comes from the hops in a more traditional ESB package than expected. The Doc Tegart is a unique ESB where notes of tradition come through in spades but also, a bigger body and some florality add a different twist on the style. If you find yourself in Invermere or happen to stumble upon this beer, give it a try!


Alcohol – 6.5%
IBU – 60
Size –650ml bottle
Price – $6.90 (Craft Retailer)
No Website

Arrowhead Brewing Co. - Doc Tegart's ESB Review Arrowhead Brewing Co. - Doc Tegart's ESB Review

Tags: arrowhead, ESB

About Author

Dustan Sept

Dustan Sept is the founder of Beer Me BC. His passion for craft beer drove the creation of in 2012. To learn more about the editorial team visit

Write a Comment